

# **Draft Minutes**

# **Rent Review Board**

Tuesday, April 23, 2019	7:00 PM	City Council Chambers
	Thomas Silva, Landlord Linda Spreer, Tenant	
	Kristen Schumacher, Tenant	
	Mia Ousley, Homeowner	
	Daniel Johnson, Landlord	

## 1. ROLL CALL

Meeting called to order by Chair Silva at 7:01 p.m.

Present: 5 - Chair Silva, Johnson, Ousley (arrived at 7:05 p.m.), Schumacher, Spreer

#### 2. PUBLIC COMMENTS

None.

#### 3. MINUTES

<u>19-214</u> Draft Minutes of the Meeting of September 25, 2018

Attachments: RRB Mtg Draft Minutes 2018.09.25

A motion was made by Board Member Johnson, seconded by Board Member Spreer, to approve the Minutes of the September 25, 2018 Rent Review Board meeting.

The motion was approved by the following vote:

Aye - 4: Chair Silva, Johnson, Schumacher, Spreer

Late - 1: Ousley (arrived at 7:05 p.m.)

#### 4. CORRESPONDENCE

None.

#### 5. HEARINGS

#### 5.A. RRB 2018-08: 14700 Washington Avenue, Apt. 205

Chair Silva took roll to confirm that the tenants and landlords were present at the hearing.

Regarding RRB2018-08:

The tenant, Yesenia Belmontes Delgado was present.

The landlord, Robert Schwartz, was present.

Landlord, Robert Schwartz approached the Chair and stated that he and the tenant came to an agreement just before the meeting to a 7% rent increase effective July 1, 2019. The rent will increase from \$1325 to \$1418.

Board Member Johnson motioned to accept the agreement, seconded by Board Member Spreer.

The motion was approved by the following vote:

Aye - 5: Chair Silva, Johnson, Ousley, Schumacher, Spreer

#### 6. MISCELLANEOUS

None.

#### 7. BOARD MEMBER COMMENTS

Chair Silva announced that he is no longer associated with the Rental Housing Association Serving Southern Alameda County, effective December 2018.

Chair Silva welcomed Kristen Schumacher as the newest Board Member to the San Leandro Rent Review Board.

#### 8. STAFF COMMENTS

None.

### 9. ADJOURN

Board Member Ousley motioned to adjourn the meeting, seconded by Board Member Johnson.

The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye - 5: Chair Silva, Johnson, Ousley, Schumacher, Spreer

Chair Silva adjourned the meeting at 7:07 pm.