

City of San Leandro

Civic Center 835 East 14th Street San Leandro, California

Minutes

Planning Commission and Board of Zoning Adjustments

Vice Chair Dylan Boldt, District 6
Tony Breslin, District 1
Luis Mendoza, District 2
Kenneth Pon, At Large (1)
Michael Santos, District 5
Rick Solis, District 3
Anthony Tejada, District 4

Thursday, February 4, 2021

7:00 PM

Access via information below

The regularly scheduled Planning Commission and Board of Zoning Adjustments public hearing will be conducted via teleconferencing. Members of the public may observe, participate, and provide comments during the hearing remotely, using the instructions below. We ask that all participants follow the same decorum while teleconferencing as during a regular meeting.

This meeting is being held in accordance with the State Emergency Services Act, the Governor's Emergency Declaration related to COVID-19, and the Governor's Executive Order N-29-20 issued on March 17, 2020, to allow attendance by members of the Planning Commission and Board of Zoning Adjustments by teleconference, videoconference, or both.

If you would like to speak on an agenda item, you can access the meeting remotely:

Join from a PC, Mac, iPad, iPhone, or Android device: Please use this URL: https://us02web.zoom.us/j/97779378406

If you do not wish for your name to appear on the screen, use the drop-down menu and click on "rename" to rename yourself to be anonymous.

Or join by phone: *67 1-669-900-6833

Enter Meeting ID: 977 7937 8406#

If you want to comment during the public comment portion of the agenda, press *9 and you will be selected from the meeting queue.

You can also submit your comments by e-mail to: planner@sanleandro.org

To give staff adequate time to print out your comments for consideration at the meeting, please submit your written comments prior to 3:00 p.m. on the day of the meeting.

If you wish to have your comments read aloud to the Commissioners during the appropriate Public Comment period, please indicate in the Subject Line "FOR PUBLIC COMMENT" and list the item number you wish to comment on. Comments that you want to read to the Commission will be subject to the three minute time limitation (approximately 350 words). Written comments to be provided to the Commission and not read at the meeting, will be distributed to the Commissioners prior to the meeting.

1. ROLL CALL

Remote: Chair Falero; Vice Chair Boldt; Commissioners Breslin, Pon, Santos, Solis, Tejada

2. PUBLIC COMMENTS

None.

3. MINUTES

3.A. Draft Minutes of the Meeting of November 5, 2020

Attachments: 11-5-2020 PC-BZA Minutes Draft

Commissioner Pon pointed out that under the list of Commissioners at the top of the Draft Minutes document, it lists Commissioner Tejada's name, instead of Commissioner Vierra Houston's name.

Commissioner Falero pointed out that under item 3.A., in regards to him thanking Vice Chair Boldt for stepping in as Chair, was for the October 10th, 2020 meeting instead of the November 5, 2020 meeting, as stated.

Per Secretary Mogensen's recommendation, Chair Falero made a motion to modify the above mentioned two items, on the November 5th, 2020 Draft Minutes, without having to bring them in front of this Board again. The motion was seconded by Commissioner Pon.

The motion passed by the following vote:

Ayes: 7 - Chair Falero; Vice Chair Boldt; Commissioners Breslin, Pon, Santos, Solis, Tejada

4. CORRESPONDENCE

Secretary Mogensen stated that he e-mailed the applicant and the Commissioners the corrected conditions of approval for Item 6 on this evening's agenda.

5. ORAL COMMUNICATIONS

None.

6. PUBLIC HEARINGS

PLN20-0001; Consideration of a Conditional Use Permit for a Vehicle Storage Facility at 2539 Grant Avenue. A Conditional Use Permit is required to allow vehicle storage uses in the IG zoning district. Zoning District: IG (General Industrial District); Alameda County Assessor's Parcel Number (APN): 080G-0910-015-00; Applicant: Louis Rigaud; Property owner: MTLG, LLC.

Attachments: Vicinity Map

Plan Exhibits A-G

Applicant Statement

Lourdes Juarez, Planner I, presented and answered clarifying questions. Andrew Mogensen, AICP, Planning Manager, answered clarifying questions. Louis Rigaud, Applicant, answered clarifying questions.

Chair Falero opened the Public Hearing.

The following people spoke:

- 1. Dr. Lula Tsegay
- 2. Emily Griego, President and CEO of the San Leandro Chamber of Commerce

Chair Falero closed the Public Hearing.

RESOLUTION No. 2021-001 of the Board of Zoning Adjustments of the City of San Leandro, approving Conditional Use Permit PLN20-0001 for Vehicle Storage at 2539 Grant Avenue.

<u>Attachments:</u> Exhibit A Recommended Findings

Exhibit B Recommended COA

Exhibit B Recommended COAs

Commissioner Breslin pointed out that there is a typo in the Resolution, in that the '6th Whereas' reflects the incorrect year of 2020 instead of 2021.

A motion was made by Commissioner Santos to approve the resolution, seconded by Commissioner Pon.

The motion passed by the following vote:

Ayes: 7 - Chair Falero; Vice Chair Boldt; Commissoners Breslin, Pon, Santos, Solis, Tejada

7. MISCELLANEOUS

None.

8. MEMBERS' COMMENTS

Commissioner Breslin asked about status the BayFair project at 15693 E 14th Street of 498 units.

Commissioner Breslin thanked Chair Falero for his time and chairing the commission meetings.

Commissioner Pon welcomed Commissioner Tejada to the PC/BZA Board.

Commissioner Santos "gave a shout out" to Davis Street, where his mother was able to get her COVID-19 shot, instead of the Kaiser clinic.

Commissioner Solis thanked Catherine Vierra Houston for her many years of service and welcomed Commissioner Tejada to the PC/BZA Board.

9. STAFF UPDATES/PROJECT STATUS REPORT

Secretary Mogensen made the Commissioners aware of Form-700 which will be e-mailed and is due on April 1, 2021.

Secretary Mogensen thanked Commissioner Vierra Houston for her many years of service.

10. ADJOURN

Commissioner Santos made a motion to adjourn, seconded by Commissioner Solis.

The motion carried by the following vote:

Ayes 7: - Chair Falero, Vice Chair Boldt, Commissioners Breslin, Pon, Santos, Solis, Tejada

The meeting was adjourned at 8:40 PM.