

City of San Leandro

Civic Center 835 East 14th Street San Leandro, California

Minutes

Community Advisory Budget Task Force

District 1
Angela Brown, Moira Fry, Kaanon MacFarlane, Gary Offenberg

District 2 Robert Bailey, Joe Camarillo, Surlene Grant, Leo Sheridan

District 3
Susan Erb, Mike Katz-Lacabe, Michael Kim-Eubanks,
Jeromey Shafer

District 4
Carol Cole, Arlene Lum, Celina Reynes, Melissa Wong

District 5
Cynthia Chandler, Rebecca Day-Rodriguez, Patrick Grajeda,
Leslie Robertson

District 6
Donna Chamberlin, Ray Davis, Melissa Graham, Jim Prola

Mayor Juan Gonzalez, Keith Harper, Maria Magallon, Susan Miranda

Thursday, November 12, 2020

5:30 PM

https://us02web.zoom.us/j/88303014459

San Leandro Community Advisory Budget Task Force conducted this meeting in accordance with the State Emergency Services Act, the Governor's Emergency Declaration related to COVID-19, and the Governor's Executive Order N-29-20 issued on March 17, 2020.

1. CALL TO ORDER

The meeting was called to order at 5:33 p.m.

1.A. Attendance

TASK FORCE MEMBERS PRESENT:

26 - Bailey, Brown, Camarillo, Chandler, Cole, Davis, Day-Rodriguez, Erb, Fry, Gonzalez, Graham, Grant, Harper, Katz-Lacabe, Kim-Eubanks, Lum, MacFarlane, Magallon, Miranda, Offenberg, Prola, Reynes, Robertson, Shafer, Sheridan, Wong

TASK FORCE MEMBERS ABSENT:

2 - Chamberlin, Grajeda (excused)

STAFF MEMBERS PRESENT:

Jeff Kay, City Manager

Richard Pio Roda, City Attorney

Liz Warmerdam, Assistant City Manager

Susan Hsieh. Finance Director

Jeanette Dong, Recreation & Human Services Director

Thomas Liao, Community Development Director

Katie Bowman, Economic Development Manager, Community Development

Andrew Mogensen, Planning Manager, Community Development

Ely Hwang, Recreation & Human Services Manager

Avalon Schultz, Principal Planner, Community Development

Michael Jeffery, Acting Chief Building Official, Community Development

Leticia Miguel, City Clerk

Elsa Castillo, Administrative Specialist II, Recreation & Human Services

Tim McVicker, Information Technology Technician

Sally Perez, Purchasing Technician, Finance

Jim O'Leary, Consulting Staff

1.B. Announcements

Assistant City Manager Warmerdam acknowledged Veteran's day, and she extended thanks to all Veterans for their service.

It was clarified that the best email address for members to reach City staff is: budgettaskforce@sanleandro.org

A reminder was made that Form 700 must be submitted by the fast-approaching deadline.

2. PUBLIC COMMENTS

There were approximately 2 public speakers.

Comments were made by the following individuals:

Douglas Spalding and Steven Michael Tow

3. DISCUSSION ITEMS

3.A. 20-528 Election of Chair and Vice Chair

a. Chair - Roll call votes were taken as follows:

Member Day-Rodriguez:

15 - Bailey, Brown, Chandler, Cole, Day-Rodriguez, Erb, Fry, Katz-Lacabe, Kim-Eubanks, Lum, Prola, Reynes, Robertson, Shafer, Wong

Member Gonzalez:

11 - Camarillo, Davis, Gonzalez, Graham, Grant, Harper, MacFarlane, Magallon, Miranda, Offenberg, Sheridan

Absent: 2 - Chamberlin, Grajeda (excused)

Abstained: None

Member Day-Rodriguez was nominated for Chair.

b. Vice Chair - Roll call votes were taken as follows:

Member Gonzalez:

18 - Bailey, Camarillo, Cole, Davis, Erb, Fry, Gonzalez, Graham, Grant, Harper, Lum, MacFarlane, Magallon, Miranda, Offenberg, Prola, Sheridan, Wong

Member Reynes:

8 - Brown, Chandler, Day-Rodriguez, Katz-Lacabe, Kim-Eubanks, Reynes, Robertson, Shafer

Absent: 2 - Chamberlin, Grajeda (excused)

Abstained: None

Member Gonzalez was nominated for Vice Chair

3.B. 20-529 Creation of an Ad Hoc Committee for Task Force Shared Values

a. Public comment

There was approximately 1 public speaker. Comments were made by Steven Michael Tow.

b. Member Reynes made a motion for an ad-hoc committee of five to seven members, for the purpose of establishing a list of decision-making criteria based on shared values.

Member Offenberg seconded the motion.

Roll call votes were taken as follows:

Aye: 26 - Bailey, Brown, Camarillo, Chandler, Cole, Davis, Day-Rodriguez, Erb, Fry, Gonzalez, Graham, Grant, Harper, Katz-Lacabe, Kim-Eubanks, Lum, MacFarlane, Magallon, Miranda, Offenberg, Prola, Reynes, Robertson, Shafer, Sheridan, Wong

Nay: None

Absent: 2 - Chamberlin, Grajeda (excused)

Abstained: None

- c. The following Members volunteered to be on the ad hoc committee:
- 6 Bailey, Chandler, Grant, Harper, Offenberg, Reynes

3.C. 20-530 Review of Department Operating Budgets

a. Director Jeanette Dong provided an overview of the Recreation & Human Services

(RHS) Department.

b. Director Thomas Liao provided an overview of the Community Development Department.

c. Public comment:

There was approximately 1 public speaker. Comments were made by Douglas Spalding.

3.D. <u>20-490</u>

Minutes of the Community Advisory Budget Task Force Meeting of October 14, 2020

Chair Day-Rodriguez made a motion to approve the minutes.

Member Prola seconded the motion.

Roll call votes were taken as follows:

Aye: 25 - Bailey, Brown, Camarillo, Chandler, Cole, Davis, Day-Rodriguez, Erb, Fry, Gonzalez, Graham, Grant, Harper, Katz-Lacabe, Lum, MacFarlane, Magallon, Miranda, Offenberg, Prola, Reynes, Robertson, Shafer, Sheridan, Wong

Nay: None

Absent: 3 - Chamberlin, Grajeda (excused), Kim-Eubanks

Abstained: None

4. TASK FORCE MEMBER COMMENTS

Several task force members made comments including:

- 1) Request for meeting minutes to be ready for approval at the following meeting.
- 2) Suggestion to meet more often, to limit duration of meetings, and to consider scheduling additional meetings
- 3) Alternative method for "polling" or to legally vote on a motion that may be faster than the roll call vote
- 4) Propose a motion to create an ad hoc committee at the next meeting to research and identify models for Community Engagement
- 5) Requests for City staff to be more cognizant of their use of acronyms

ADJOURN

The meeting was adjourned at 9:51 p.m.