

## City of San Leandro

Civic Center 835 East 14th Street San Leandro, California

## Legislation Text

File #: 18-103, Version: 1

Resolution to Appoint Members to the Bicycle and Pedestrian Advisory Committee (BPAC)

WHEREAS, bicycle and pedestrian travel are tangible symbols of the concept of a sustainable community as they enhance local environmental quality through the reduction of traffic congestion, vehicle exhaust emissions, noise and energy consumption; and

WHEREAS, to maximize bicycle and pedestrian travel, it is essential that planning for these modes be integrated in all City transportation improvement projects whenever feasible; and

WHEREAS, a consistent and systematic review process within a public forum must be followed to ensure that bicycle and pedestrian issues are addressed and options developed in a timely fashion for network expansion; and

WHEREAS, the following members of the community are advocates for bicycle and pedestrian issues in the City, and are therefore well-qualified to serve on the City's Bicycle and Pedestrian Advisory Committee (BPAC):

- Maureen Forney (Council District 1)
- Jeremy Johansen (Council District 1)
- Jason Hammon (Council District 2)
- William Ho (Council District 2)
- Diana Souza (Council District 3)
- Barbara Butler (Council District 3)
- Jeff Wong (Council District 4)
- Michael Wallace (Council District 5)
- Sarah Bailey (Council District 5)
- Naomi Armenta (Council District 6)
- Aubrey Gibbs (Council District 6)

NOW, THEREFORE, the City Council of the City of San Leandro does RESOLVE as follows:

That said City Council hereby appoints the aforementioned members to the Bicycle and Pedestrian Advisory Committee to guide the City's development and implementation of bicycle and pedestrian facilities.